Skip to content

Psalms of Lament

October 19, 2012

At our last retreat several students took a track called “Pslams of Lament”.  So tonight at our weekly meeting they shared about Hebrew poetry and about the structure of Psalms that cry out to God.  We learned that, just as David did, we can cry out with raw emotions of hurt, confusion, fear or anger.  In our honest expressions to God he meets us and reminds us of his faithfulness.  The students had 20 minutes to write their own Psalm of Lament. The structure is 1) addressing God and crying out 2) Lament/Complaint 3) Petition “hear!”  4) Turning Point 5) Response of Praise

Here is one a student read sharing with God her struggles with anger, ”

Oh Lord of my own heart, the enemy knows my name.  he knows my weakness, it’s easy to strike.  anger thrashing like a violent storm.  Even when its gone the aftermath is still seen.  Please Lord, give me strength.  A gentle heart that is slow to anger.  The curse on my heart brings agony to me and the people near.  But I know Lord, You are sovereign.  I know you will show me the way.  Praise the Lord, who has given me the Holy Spirit!  A spirit of Love, Joy, and Peace, Pateince, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self-control!

At the end of the meeting one of the students had their grandparents there.  The grandmother got up and thanked our chapter for praying for her husband’s battle with cancer.  She shared how it had been a time of calling out to God in hard times, yet resting in His good plans.  She announced to the group that her husband was cancer free and that he was slowly regaining strength.  It was good for the students to see a visable sign of faith in the midst of hardship…and to see the good hand of God at work!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment